

Mackenzie County Boards, Commissions, Committee List 2022 – 2023

Committee Name	Council Members	Members-at-Large	Administration
Agricultural Appeal Board (Bylaw 943-14)	Deputy Reeve Sarapuk Councillor Cardinal Councillor Wardley	None	Louise Flooren (Clerk)*
Agricultural Service Board (Policy ASB005)	Reeve Knelsen (Ex-officio) Councillor Driedger (2023) Councillor Peters (2023)	George Fehr (2023) Anthony Peters (2023) Joseph Peters (2023)	CAO Landon Driedger* Caitlin Smith
Assessment Review Board (Bylaw 1106-18)	Councillor Cardinal (alt) Councillor Wardley	Jerry Chomiak (2025) Joe Froese (2025) Vacant (alternate)	Louise Flooren (Clerk)* Colleen Sarapuk (Alt)**
Committee of the Whole (Procedural Bylaw)	All Council	None	CAO Directors
Community Services Committee (Terms of Reference)	Reeve Knelsen (Ex-officio) Councillor Braun Councillor Cardinal Councillor Derksen Councillor Wardley	None	CAO Don Roberts* Director of Operations
Community Streetscape Implementation Committee – Fort Vermilion (Terms of Reference)	Councillor Cardinal	Carson Flett (2023) Danny Friesen (2023) Ilene Lizotte (2023)	Don Roberts
Community Streetscape Implementation Committee – La Crete (Terms of Reference)	Councillor Braun	Lorna Dyck (2024)	Don Roberts
Emergency Advisory Committee (Regional Emergency Management Bylaw)	All Council	None	CAO (DEM) Byron Peters Don Roberts (DDEM)* Directors
Flood Recovery Steering Committee	Reeve Knelsen (Ex-officio) Councillor Cardinal Councillor Smith	None	Byron Peters Jennifer Batt

Indigenous Liaison Committee (Terms of Reference)	All Council	None	CAO Caitlin Smith*
---	-------------	------	-----------------------

Committee Name	Council Members	Members-at-Large	Administration
Inter-Municipal Planning Commission (Bylaw 713-09)	Councillor Bateman Councillor Driedger	Andrew O'Rourke (2023)	CAO Caitlin Smith*
Inter-Municipal Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (Bylaw 714-09)	Councillor Wardley	Jerry Chomiak (2025) John Croken (2023)** Karen Egge (2023)** Joe Froese (2025) Wally Schroeder (2023) Ray Toews (2025) Denise van Rootselaar (2023)	Louise Flooren (Clerk)* Colleen Sarapuk (Alt)
Mackenzie Library Board <i>(Bylaw 150-98)</i>	Councillor Cardinal Councillor Wardley	Tammie Mclean (2023-FV) Sandra Neufeld (2023-LC) Lorraine Peters (2023-Rural) Wally Schroeder (2025-LC) Steven Simpson (2023-FV) Kayla Wardley (2024-ZA) Vacant (2023-HLR)	N/A
Municipal Planning Commission (Bylaw 563-06)	Councillor Bateman Councillor Driedger	Erick Carter (2023-FV) Tim Driedger (2023-LC) Andrew O'Rourke (2023)	CAO Caitlin Smith*
Northwest Alberta Regional Emergency Advisory Committee (Regional Emergency Management Bylaw)	Councillor Bateman Councillor Peters Reeve Knelsen (alt)	None	Byron Peters
Subdivision & Development Appeal Board (Bylaw 1212-21)	Councillor Cardinal Councillor Wardley	Jerry Chomiak (2025) John Croken (2023)** Karen Egge (2023)** Joe Froese (2025) Wally Schroeder (2023) Ray Toews (2025) Denise van Rootselaar (2023)	Louise Flooren (Clerk)* Colleen Sarapuk (Alt)

Ad Hoc Committees

Committee Name	Council Members	Members-at-Large	Administration
Development Ad Hoc Committee (Terms of Reference)	Councillor Bateman Councillor Cardinal Councillor Driedger	Darrell Derksen Paul Driedger George Fehr Danny Friesen Chad Wiebe	CAO Caitlin Smith

External Committees with County Representation

Committee Name	Council Members	Administration
Boreal Housing Foundation	Reeve Knelsen Councillor Cardinal Councillor Derksen	N/A
Community Futures Northwest	Deputy Reeve Sarapuk	N/A
FCSS – Fort Vermilion	Councillor Cardinal	N/A
FCSS – La Crete	Councillor Braun	N/A
FCSS – Zama	Councillor Wardley	N/A
Hay Zama Committee	Councillor Bateman Councillor Wardley	N/A
La Crete Community Adult Learning Council	Councillor Braun	N/A
Mackenzie Applied Research Association (MARA)	Councillor Smith	Landon Driedger
Mackenzie Frontier Tourist Association (MFTA)	Councillor Cardinal Councillor Wardley	N/A
Mackenzie Regional Community Policing Society (Victim Services)	Councillor Derksen	N/A
Mackenzie Regional Waste Management Commission	Reeve Knelsen (2023) Councillor Bateman (2023)	N/A
Mighty Peace Watershed Alliance	Councillor Cardinal	N/A
Northern Lakes College CEC – Fort Vermilion	Councillor Cardinal	N/A
Northern Lakes College CEC – High Level	Deputy Reeve Sarapuk	N/A
Northwest Species at Risk (NWSAR)	Councillor Smith Councillor Wardley Councillor Cardinal (Alternate)	Byron Peters
Recreation Board – Fort Vermilion	Councillor Cardinal	Don Roberts
Recreation Board – La Crete	Councillor Braun	Don Roberts
Recreation Board – Zama	Councillor Wardley	Don Roberts
Regional Economic Development Initiative (REDI)	Reeve Knelsen Councillor Wardley	Byron Peters
Rural Health Professions Action Plan (RhPAP)	Councillor Cardinal Councillor Derksen Councillor Smith	
The Northern Lights Forest Education Society	Deputy Reeve Sarapuk	
Upper Hay Regional Forests Public Advisory Committee (PAC)	Councillor Cardinal Councillor Wardley	
Veterinary Services Incorporated (VSI)	Councillor Smith Deputy Reeve Sarapuk (Alternate)	Landon Driedger
Water North Coalition (WNC)	Reeve Knelsen Councillor Peters	

*Responsible for preparing committee packages. **Pending Training Completion